Board Member Login
SHRF RMS Login Donate
News Page


Six Patient-Oriented Research Leaders Funded to Improve Health Care Systems and Practices for the Benefit of Patients in Saskatchewan
May 8, 2018

The latest investment in Saskatchewan’s efforts to support patient-oriented research (POR) comes as Saskatchewan Health Research Foundation (SHRF) and the Saskatchewan Centre for Patient-Oriented Research (SCPOR) announce six recipients of the Patient-Oriented Research Leader Awards. These jointly funded awards will provide each research leader up to $250,000 over three years to support their work with patients and provide evidence-informed improvements for the health care system, while striving to improve patient outcomes through relevant and timely research.

This award focuses on Indigenous health and/or mental health and addictions and supports research across the province, including rural and remote communities. The researchers awarded will lead the meaningful engagement and collaboration of researchers, decision makers, patients, families, communities and health care providers to address patient-identified or community-driven priorities. 

“The six funded Leaders bring experiences, partnerships and expertise that are as diverse as the patients and communities their research will serve,” says Patrick Odnokon, CEO of SHRF. “Each have made significant contributions in their respective fields and we are confident that they will inspire continued change to the way research is carried out in urban, rural, remote and Indigenous communities.” 

The intent of the funding is not to support one single project, but rather, a program of research that will create new knowledge that can be applied to improve health care systems and practices in the province. 

These researchers will also support SCPOR’s mandate to build capacity and collaborations to conduct responsive, equitable, innovative, patient-oriented research that continuously improves the care and health of Saskatchewan people.

“Patients, families and communities can make considerable contributions to research at every stage of the process,” says Malcolm King, Scientific Director and Interim Co-Lead of SCPOR. “Recipients of the Patient-Oriented Research Leader Awards will ensure we continue to enrich health research, making it more relevant and improving patient care in Saskatchewan.”

The following researchers are recipients of this award: 

Angela Bowen College of Nursing, University of Saskatchewan
Walking With Mothers: The Journey to Culturally Secure Birth in Saskatchewan

Jennifer Gordon Psychology, Faculty of Arts, University of Regina
Improving Women's Mental Health in Saskatchewan

Gary Groot Community Health and Epidemiology, College of Medicine, University of Saskatchewan
The Indigenous Health Collective: Advancing Indigenous Health Knowledge in Saskatchewan

Vivian Ramsden Academic Family Medicine, College of Medicine, University of Saskatchewan
Wellness – Building on Strengths: Working with Sturgeon Lake First Nation

JoLee Sasakamoose Educational Psychology, Faculty of Education, University of Regina
Muskowekwan First Nation: Regaining and Using Our Culture to Heal Generations Together

Kristi Wright Psychology, Faculty of Arts, University of Regina
Transforming Mental Health Prevention Service Delivery for Children and Adolescents with Cystic Fibrosis: A Program of Research

See full recipient details

About Saskatchewan Health Research Foundation (SHRF)
SHRF is the provincial agency that provides the funding necessary to fuel a vibrant culture of health research and innovation for a stronger Saskatchewan. SHRF collaborates with partners to encourage success, connections and action in Saskatchewan’s health research environment, responding to specific needs and offering targeted programs that enable researchers to place themselves among the world’s best and allows the province to be leaders in creating and adopting new health innovations.
About Saskatchewan Centre for Patient-Oriented Research (SCPOR)
SCPOR is one of eight provincial/territorial units led by CIHR to build provincial and national capacity for patient-oriented research. With support from the governments of Canada and Saskatchewan, nine provincial organizations provide funds and in-kind contributions. These organizations include: University of Saskatchewan, eHealth Saskatchewan, Saskatchewan Health Quality Council, Saskatchewan Health Research Foundation, Ministry of Health, Saskatchewan Health Authority, University of Regina and Saskatchewan Polytechnic. 


For more information: 
Richard Kies, Director of Communications and Outreach
Saskatchewan Health Research Foundation

Barb Colvin, Support Unit Specialist
Saskatchewan Centre for Patient-Oriented Research


324-111 Research Drive
Saskatoon, SK Canada S7N 3R2
Phone: 306.975.1680 | 1.800.975.1699

Board Member LoginSHRF RMS Login
© Copyright 2019 SHRF